using LDT0-028K with an arduino as an impact sensor

For a project that I am working on I had to use a piezo sensor to detect impact of falling water on a surface. I bought the LDT0-028K from protocentral (excellent service, btw).

I had initial hiccups in getting started and had to read through the techincal manual to get started. I could not find much on googling, So I thought I’d put it here for someone who uses the right words on google search.

You need to connect the piezo in parrallel with a 1M ohm resistor. Well thats all!

This is what I could get : On setting threshold of 60, I could detect impact of a stream of water falling on a box. Upon breaking the fall of the water by putting your hand midway, the sensor would switch off.

Here is my setup (sorry for the bad pictures)

2013-10-19 12.49.43 2013-10-19 12.49.50 2013-10-19 12.49.57 2013-10-19 12.50.04

 

schematic1

Arduino Code :

int sensorPin = A0;
int ledPin = 13;
int sensorValue = 0;

void setup() {
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
sensorValue = analogRead(sensorPin);
if (sensorValue >70){
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
}

else{
digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
}
}

2 thoughts on “using LDT0-028K with an arduino as an impact sensor

  1. Really really helpful.
    Had been trying to get my SEN-09197 to work for hours but to no avail until i came across this.
    Thumbs up
    And a tip: Do not try putting your piezo sensor on breadboard since its pins dont fit in properly. A better way is to connect them using wires (just like done in the pictures above).

Leave a Reply

